Eastern & Southern Africa Subregional Platform

In its 2016–20 strategy, the Prolinnova network decided to create regional and subregional platforms of country-level multistakeholder networks (“Country Platforms”). The Eastern & Southern Africa Subregional Platform includes the Country Platforms (CPs) in Ethiopia, Kenya, Mozambique, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe. It is also open to multistakeholder groups that want to promote farmer-led local innovation and experimentation processes in other countries in the subregion and that apply to the Prolinnova Oversight Group (POG) to be accepted at Prolinnova CPs.

The subregional platform seeks to facilitate country-to-country learning and joint efforts in policy dialogue at subregional level to promote local innovation by small-scale family farmers and, above all, multistakeholder interaction in farmer-led joint research and development that builds on local initiatives and innovations. A diagram of the regional structure of Prolinnova in Africa and links with other parts of the global network can be found here.

The taskforce for setting up the subregional platform in Eastern & Southern Africa, incuding defining and creating entities to coordinate and govern the platform, is composed as follows:

The coordinator of the Eastern & Southern Africa Subregional Platform is Jacob Wanyama, based in Nairobi, Kenya (jacobwanyama12@gmail.com).

AttachmentSize sulci-fans_src_esa_year_2_report_14.11.2021_ed.pdf618.82 KB

Arabic AR Chinese (Simplified) ZH-CN Dutch NL English EN French FR German DE Italian IT Portuguese PT Russian RU Spanish ES