About the Nepal Country Platform

Prolinnova-Nepal aims at developing and institutionalising partnership and methodologies that promote processes of local innovation in environmentally sound use of natural resources. It is an initiative undertaken in partnership between several Nepal-based organisations.

Some activities of Prolinnova–Nepal since it was set up in 2004 have been: reviewing previous studies and documents on local innovation, developing guiding principles and modalities of field documentation and providing orientation to partners regarding participatory innovation development (PID), and experimentation with modalities of Local Innovation Support Funds/Facilities (LISFs). The Country Platform (CP) focuses on integrating the PID approach within learning in schools and institutions of higher education.

The CP was coordinated for several years by LI-BIRD (Local Initiatives for Biodiversity, Research and Development). In early 2016, the coordination was rotated to the Institute for Science and Technology of Tribhuwan University, thereafter to SAHAS (Group of Helping Hands) and, in early 2022, to RIMS (Resource Identification and Management Society). In early 2023, Rupantaran Nepal – a national NGO that works in natural resource management and climate-change adaptation and mitigation – accepted the responsibility to host the Prolinnova–Nepal platform. It leads the Working Group, which supervises the day-to-day implementation of the CP’s activities. The other members of the National Working Group are LI-BIRD, Practical Action, EcoCentre, SAHAS and RIMS.

A National Steering Committee (NSC) comprising six members from government, research and academia oversees the CP:

  1. (Ms) Bimala Devkota, Nepal Academy of Science & Technology
  2. Dharma Dangol, Institute of Social and Environmental Research
  3. (Ms) Huma Neupane, Research & Publication, Institute of Agriculture & Animal Science (IAAS), Tribhuvan University
  4. Khemraj Dahal, Department of Agronomy, IAAS, Tribhuvan University
  5. Ram Krishna Shrestha, Department of Agriculture – NSC Chairperson
  6. (Ms) Sony Baral, Institute of Forestry

Shankar Paudel, Rupantaran Nepal, CP Coordinator, ex officio member

Arabic AR Chinese (Simplified) ZH-CN Dutch NL English EN French FR German DE Italian IT Portuguese PT Russian RU Spanish ES