About the Prolinnova-Ghana platform

Development organisations and researchers working in rural communities have often failed to base intervention technologies and approaches on small-scale farmers’ innovative capacities and active participation in the context of local production systems and practices on which they have depended for decades for their livelihoods. External technologies have often failed because of their dependence on high external inputs and expertise. Prolinnova–Ghana was established in 2004 as part of the global Prolinnova network to strengthen development processes of agricultural research and development (ARD) stakeholders in promoting low-external-input and environmentally sound agricultural technologies and participatory development approaches with rural communities.

The Country Platform (CP) is hosted by the Association of Church-based Development Projects (ACDEP), located in Tamale in the Northern Region of Ghana, with field operational offices in the Upper East, Upper West and Brong Ahafo administrative regions of Ghana. The CP, which is governed by a seven-member interim National Steering Committee, is composed of local non-governmental organisations (NGOs) mostly in the ACDEP network, the Ministry of Food and Agriculture (MoFA), the Animal Research Institute (ARI) and Savanna Agricultural Research Institute (SARI) – both of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), the University for Development Studies (UDS) and individual ARD professionals. However, there are ongoing efforts to expand the platform to include like-minded international NGOs and other relevant national research, development and educational institutions to achieve national policy influence and scaling up.

The Ghana CP, through ACDEP, is currently hosting and coordinating a three-year international project called “Promoting local innovation for Food and Nutrition Security” (Proli-FaNS) on behalf of Prolinnova. The project is being implemented from August 2016 to July 2019 in five African countries of the Prolinnova network, namely, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana and Kenya, with funding from Misereor / KZE (Catholic Central Agency for Development Aid) in Germany. Proli-FaNS aims to strengthen the innovation capacity of rural communities, particularly of women, and to increase the level of local resilience to change, as well as to contribute to building functional multi-country Prolinnova platforms in two sub-regions in Africa (West & Central, Eastern & Southern). The International Support Team (IST) members in the Prolinnova International Secretariat in the Netherlands are backstopping the project.

Proli-FaNS is being implemented in two action-learning sites under the Ghana CP, namely, Bongo District in the Upper East Region and Yendi Municipality in the Northern Region, where previous Prolinnova initiatives were successfully implemented through collaboration with Navrongo-Bolga Catholic Diocesan Development Office (NABOCADO) and the Evangelical Presbyterian Development Agency (EPDRA-Yendi), respectively. Broad strategies of Prolinnova–Ghana include the following:

• Supporting joint field research and local innovation processes involving farmers, development agents and researchers based on Participatory Innovation Development (PID), Local Innovation (LI) and Indigenous Knowledge (IK) to ensure relevance and sustainability of farming technologies.

• Capacity building of farmers, women, field agents and community-based organisations to apply and scale up participatory ARD methodologies and tools to achieve greater food and nutrition security, resilience and empowerment.

• Policy dialogue and advocacy for mainstreaming and institutionalising PID, LI and other participatory methodologies in ARD programmes and policies of stakeholders.

• Networking and partnerships among stakeholders at the local, national and international levels for participatory ARD.

For more information about the initiative, contact: Joseph Nchor, Proli-FaNS Coordinator, ACDEP, Ghana (nchor@acdep.org / nchorjoseph@yahoo.com)


Prolinnova–Ghana Interim National Steering Committee (NSC)

1. (Ms) Ajara Taimako, private entrepreneur

2. Franklin Avornyo, Council for Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) Animal Research Institute (ARI), Nyankpala Station

3. (Ms) Gladys Gamor, University of Development Studies (UDS), Nyankpala Campus

4. Joseph Abarike, Ghana Red Cross Society

5. Joseph Ayembilla, Navrongo-Bolga Diocesan Development Office (NABOCADO)

6. (Ms) Mary Paula Kogana, Department of Agriculture Bolgatanga

7. Naaminong Karbo, independent consultant, formerly CSIR–ARI – NSC Chair

Ex-officio member: Joseph Nchor, ACDEP, Prolinnova–Ghana Coordinator